Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation, Allez à la recherche, Change language

  • Applications
  • Tumblr
  • Instagram

Home > Article

The Palmes d'or

Jerry Schatzberg, Diana Ross and Alan Bridges 1973, © AFP



From 1946 to 1954, before the creation of the Palme d’or, the Jury awarded the "Grand Prix du Festival International du Film".
1946: every one of the selected films picked up a prize. The "Grand Prix " was awarded to eleven films including The Lost Week-end  by Billy Wilder and Roberto Rossellini's  Roma Citta Aperta. The Battle of the Rails by René Clément garnered the Jury International prize. (>>> The list of winners in 1946)
1947: six films picked up awards in various genres: prizes were given for the best animated film, musical comedy, social film, adventure and detective film and documentaries (>>> The list of winners in 1947)
1949The Third Man by Carol Reed
From 1951 to 1954, the Grand Prix took the form of a certificate and a work of art signed by an artist in vogue.
           Fröken Julie  by Alf Sjöberg
           Miracolo a Milano by Vittorio De Sica
           Due Soldi di Speranza by Renato Castellani
1953Le Salaire de la peur by Henri-Georges Clouzot
1954Jigoku-Mon by Teinosuke Kinugaza
The Palme d’or was created in 1954 on the instigation of Robert Favre Le Bret. It was awarded for the first time in 1955.
1955: Marty by Delbert Mann 
1956: The Silent World by Jean-Yves Cousteau and Louis Malle 
1957: Friendly Persuasion by William Weyler 
1958: Letiat Jouravly (The Cranes are flying) by Mikhaïl Kalatozov 
1959: Orfeu Negro (Black Orpheus) by Marcel Camus 
1960: La Dolce Vita by Federico Fellini 
1961: Viridiana by Luis Bunuel 
          Une aussi longue absence (The Long Absence) by Henri Colpi 
1962: O Pagador de Promessas (The Promise) by Anselmo Duarte 
1963: Il Gattopardo (The Leopard) by Luschino Visconti 
1965: The Knack and How to Get it by Richard Lester 
From 1964 to 1974 the Festival de Cannes decided to return to awarding a Grand Prix rather than a Palme d’Or
1967: Blow up by Michelangelo Antonioni
1969: If by Lindsay Anderson 
1970: M.A.S.H. by Robert Altman 
1971: The Go-Between by Joseph Losey 
1973: Scarecrow by Jerry Schatzberg 
          The Hireling by Alan Bridges 
1974: The Conversation by Francis Ford Coppola 
In 1975, la Palme d’or was reintroduced. It remains to this day the most prestigious prize of all and is seen as one of the most important prizes in the international cinema world.
1976: Taxi Driver by Martin Scorsese 
1977: Padre Padrone by Vittorio and Paolo Taviani 
1979: Apocalypse Now by Francis ford Coppola 
          Die Blechtrommel (The Tin Drum) by Volker Schlondorff 
1980: All That Jazz by Bob Fosse 
          Kagemusha by Akira Kurusawa 
1981: Czlowiek Z Zelaza (Man of Iron) by Andrezj Wajda 
1982: Missing by Costa Gavras 
          Yol by Yilmaz Guney 
1983: Narayama-Bushi-ko (Ballad of Narayama) by Shohei Imamura 
1984: Paris Texas by Wim Wenders 
1986: Mission (The Mission) by Roland Joffé 
1989: Sex, Lies and Videotape by Steven Soderbergh 
1990: Wild at Heart by David Lynch 
1991: Barton Fink by Ethan and Joël Coen 
          The Piano by Jane Campion 
1994: Pulp Fiction by Quentin Tarantino 
1995: Underground by Emir Kusturica 
1996: Secrets and Lies by Mike Leigh 
1997: Unagi (The Eel) by Inamura Shohei 
          Tam’e Guilass (Taste of Cherry) by Abbas Kiarostami 
1999: Rosetta by Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne 
2000: Dancer in the Dark by Lars Von Trier 
2002: The Pianist by Roman Polanski 
2003: Elephant by Gus Van Sant 
2004: Fahrenheit 9/11 by Mickael Moore 
2005: L’Enfant (The Child) by Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne 
2006: The Wind That Shakes the Barley by Ken Loach 
2008: Entre les murs (The Class) by Laurent Cantet 
2009: Das Weiss Band (The White Ribbon) by Michael Haneke 
          Apichatpong Weerasethakul 
2011: The Tree of Life by Terrence Malick 
2012: Love by Michael Haneke
2013: Blue is the Warmest Color by Abdellatif Kechiche. For the first time in the history of the Festival, the Palme d'or was awarded both to the director and to his two leading actresses: Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux.
2014 : Winter Sleep by Nuri Bilge Ceylan
2015 : Dheepan by Jacques Audiard
2016 : I, Daniel Blake by Ken Loach


Facebook Twitter Imprimer