Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation, Allez à la recherche, Change language

  • Applications
  • Tumblr
  • Instagram

Home > Festival Archives > The Dailies

The Daily 2005

22 May
  • Actualités
  • Vidéos
  • Photos
  • Audios

Interviews, reports, films, events, press conferences, photo calls, the red carpet... Hour by hour updates, bringing you exclusive and official coverage of the 12 days of the Festival in articles, videos, photos and sound clips.

  • Final Press Conference: The Jury Explains its Decisions

    the 22.05.2005 at 6:09 PM - Updated on 22.05.2005 at 6:47 PM

    Bringing this 58th edition of the Cannes Film Festival to a close, the jury explained their award choices to the press. With the Festival heads (Gilles Jacob, Veronique Cayla and Thierry Frémeaux) in attendance, President Emir Kusturica and jurors Nandita Das, Salma Hayek, Toni Morrison, Agnès Varda, Javier...
  • Red Carpet Arrival: The Winners of the Palme d'Or

    the 22.05.2005 at 4:50 PM - Updated on 22.05.2005 at 8:37 PM

    Brothers Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, bearing the Palme d'Or they were awarded last night, were cheered as the top of the bill in the red-carpet ceremonies at this 58th edition of the Cannes Festival, as their winning film The Child was prepared for a triumphant screening. The Jurors - Javier Bardem, Salma Hayek, Nandita Das,...
  • The Norman McLaren Prize: Ukrainian Filmmaker Igor Strembitskyy for "Podorozhni" ("Wayfarers")

    the 22.05.2005 at 11:10 AM - Updated on 22.05.2005 at 11:21 AM

    This morning at La Plage des Palmes, the Canadian National Film Board, with Véronique Cayla, General Manager of the Cannes Festival in attendance, along with Edward Yang, President of the Short Films and Cinéfondation Jury, awarded the Norman McLaren Prize to the laureate of the Short Film Palme d'Or, Ukrainian...
  • Flashback to Saturday May 21

    the 22.05.2005 at 8:00 AM

    The 58th Edition of the Cannes Film Festival came to a close today with the traditional Palmarès awards ceremony. Jury President Emir Kusturica presented the Palme d'Or to the brotherly team of directors Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, who received the top prize for the film The Child, about reluctant fatherhood, starring...
  • Palme d'Or: "The Child" by Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM - Updated on 05.11.2015 at 3:37 PM

    Morgan Freeman and Hilary Swank - last seen together in Clint Eastwood's Million Dollar Baby - were the duo who presented the Palme d'Or of this 58th Edition of the Cannes Festival to Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne for The Child. The brothers began by thanking the Jury for having appreciated their film, "Thank you...
  • Best Actress Award: Hanna Laslo in "Free Zone"

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM - Updated on 03.06.2005 at 11:31 AM

    Ralph Fiennes presented the Prix d'Interprétation Féminine, or Best Actress award, to Hanna Laslo for her performance in Free Zone by Amos Gitai. "I am very moved, it is overwhelming to be up here on stage," declared the actress. "I would like to share this award with Amos Gitaï, my director who gave me...
  • Grand Prix: "Broken Flowers" by Jim Jarmusch

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM - Updated on 22.05.2005 at 7:18 AM

    Fanny Ardant presented the Grand Prix to director Jim Jarmusch for his film Broken Flowers. "I'm speechless," exclaimed Jarmusch. "It's a great honor to accept this prize on behalf of all those who worked on this film. When making a film, all the cast and crew are on equal footing. Thanks to all who made this film...
  • Best Actor Award: Tommy Lee Jones in "The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada"

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM - Updated on 06.06.2005 at 5:11 PM

    Penelope Cruz presented Tommy Lee Jones with the Prix d'interprétation masculine, or Best Actor award, for his performance in the film he also directed, The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada . Accepting the award, actor-director Tommy Lee Jones declared, "Thank you very much. I would like to thank all those...
  • Best Director Award: "Hidden" by Michael Haneke

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM - Updated on 22.05.2005 at 7:28 AM

    The Prix de la mise en scène, or Best Director award, was conferred upon Michael Haneke by Kirsten Scott Thomas for Hidden. "Thanks to the Festival, the members of the Jury who defended my work," declared the Austrian filmmaker. Thanks to all those who helped me with the film, starting with my wife who has ...
  • Best Screenplay Award to Guillermo Arriaga for "The Three Burials Of Melquiades Estrada"

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM - Updated on 22.05.2005 at 7:32 AM

    The winner of the prize for Best Screenplay, presented by Zhang Ziyi, was Guillermo Arriaga, for the script he wrote for The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada by Tommy Lee Jones. "It's an enormous honor to be here, and this is the first time I've ever worn a suit like this in my life, joked the Mexican writer. I want to...
  • Jury Prize: "Shanghai Dreams" by Wang Xiaoshuai

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM

    Lambert Wilson and Valérie Lemercier were onstage to present the Jury Prize to Wang Xiaoshuai for his film Shanghai Dreams. "Let me express my thanks to the entire Jury, and Jury President Emir Kusturica, said Wang Xiaoshuai, in his acceptance speech. Thank you to the Cannes Festival. I'd also like to thank all...
  • Caméra d'Or Winner: "The Forsaken Land" and "Me And You And Everyone We Know"

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM

    The Caméra d'Or landed in a tie, to Sulanga Enu Pinisa (The Forsaken Land) by Vimukthi Jayasundara, which had been selected for Un Certain Regard, and Me And You And Everyone We Know by Miranda July, which screened on the Critics' Week program. Abbas Kiarostami and Milla Jovovich had the honor of presenting the...
  • Short Film Palme d'Or: "Podorozhni" ("Wayfarers") by Igor Strembitskyy / Special Mention: "Clara" by Van Sowerwine

    the 22.05.2005 at 5:00 AM

    The Cinéfondation and Short Film Jury presided by Edward Yang conferred the distinction of the Short Film Palme d'Or upon Podorozhni (Wayfarers) by Igor Strembitskyy. The Short Film Special Mention was awarded to Clara by Van Sowerwine. Ukrainian director Igor Strembitskyy, receiving the prize, made the...

Select a year

Daily events

2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31


You wish to access archives that are not online yet ?

> More info

Nous suivre