Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation, Allez à la recherche, Change language

  • Applications
  • Tumblr

Home > About the Festival

About the Festival : About Us



 

What is the mission of the Festival de Cannes?
Ever since its creation, the Festival de Cannes has remained faithful to its founding purpose: to draw attention to and raise the profile of films with the aim of contributing towards the development of cinema, boosting the film industry worldwide and celebrating cinema at an international level.
 
 
What is the Official Selection?
The Official Selection serves to highlight the diversity of cinematic creation through its different sections, the two most important of which are the Competition and Un Certain Regard. Films that are representative of “auteur cinema with a wide audience appeal” are presented in Competition, and Un Certain Regard focuses on works that have an original aim and aesthetic. The Official Selection also includes Out of Competition films, Special Screenings and Midnight Screenings, Cannes Classics and the Cinéfondation selection targeting film schools.
 
 
What do the “Red Carpet Steps” represent today?
These are one aspect of the event and, without a doubt, the part of the festival that draws the most media attention. For the organisation, they represent above all an opportunity to give an initial and equally special welcome to both the world’s greatest film artists and emerging talent. They also represent an opportunity to honour the creativity of those artists on whom the Festival’s prestige depends.
 
 
What do the non-competitive selections consist of?
The Out of Competition films are often films that have a big impact on the cinematic calendar, and the Special Screenings and Midnight Screenings represent a special opportunity to view more personal works. Restored copies of films that are important in the history of cinema are brought back to life for Cannes Classics, which also offers tributes and documentaries focusing on cinema. In addition to the Selection, cinema lovers can also explore the world of cinema in a different way by attending masterclasses, tributes, exhibitions and so on.
 
 
Where do short films fit in at Cannes?
At Cannes, short films feature in the Competition, at the end of which the Short Films Jury awards a Palme d’or, and in the Short Film Corner, a professional area dedicated to meeting people, exchanging ideas and promoting films.
In 2010, the Festival created "Cannes Short Film" to bring these two entities together in a complementary dynamic in an attempt to offer an all-encompassing panorama of short film production worldwide, as well as to stimulate the creativity of short film artists.
 

 

What initiatives has the Festival set up to encourage film production?
The Festival is very keen to discover new talent and act as a springboard for creation. The development of “Cannes Short Film” is just one example of this. A number of initiatives aimed at supporting the talent of the future have already been introduced: the Caméra d’or is awarded to the best film presented either in the Official Selection, during Directors´ Fortnight or during Semaine de la Critique.
The Cinéfondation, which serves to showcase new trends in the film industry, screens films from film schools as part of the Official Selection, as well as organising the Résidence and the Atelier.
 
 
How do you maintain the Festival’s international dimension?
The films selected and the professionals whose work is recognised at the Festival come from around the world, and there is international coverage of the event in the media. In addition, the Festival de Cannes offers filmmaking countries the chance to showcase the richness of their cinema in the Village International, which hosted over 40 countries in 2012.
To further enhance the Festival’s international dimension, six new languages were added to the official website in 2010. Internet users can now follow the event not only in French and English, but also in Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic and Russian.
 
 
Does the Marché du Film represent the economic side of the Festival de Cannes?
From a very early stage, the Festival de Cannes has placed an emphasis on its Marché du Film as a way of promoting the dual cultural and economic nature of cinema. Today, boasting in excess of 10,500 participants and 1,500 screenings, it is the world’s leading market, serving to add dynamism to the global film industry. It forms an integral part of the Festival in the sense that it also facilitates networking and provides accredited professionals with the services and tools they need in order to exchange information, hold negotiations and uncover new opportunities.
 
 
What does the Festival do for the general public?
A film’s success and its director’s reputation depend above all on how it is received in cinemas. Despite being an event for film professionals only, the Festival is mindful of this reality and is taking steps to improve the way it reaches film enthusiasts.
Since 2011, the opening film has been released in French cinemas on the same day as its screening at Cannes and the opening ceremony has been broadcast in cinemas enabling audiences to experience the Festival launch night live.
At Cannes, the Cinéma de la Plage, an outdoor cinema, screens a different film each night - and, since 2010, even the occasional world première – as part of its theme-based programme. These open-air screenings are open to everyone and represent a strong link with the general public.
 
 
The Festival has just turned 65, what is the secret to its lasting success?
While maintaining a solid connection with its past, the Festival is very ready to take on board new and original concepts. Over the years, it has evolved, all the while seeking to preserve its core values: a passion for cinema, the discovery of new talent, and the bringing together of professionals and journalists from around the world with the aim of contributing to the creation and distribution of films.
During every new edition, projects are conceived, experiences are shared and different cultures are discovered: it is this dynamism that makes the Festival de Cannes a true reflection of its time.
Facebook Twitter Imprimer

CANNES COURT METRAGE

Marché du Film

Village International

CONTACT US

FESTIVAL DE CANNES, CINEFONDATION, MARCHE DU FILM
3, rue Amélie
75007 Paris - France
Tel: +33 (0) 1 53 59 61 00
Fax : +33 (0)1 53 59 61 10

If you have a specific request or suggestion, please select the appropriate contact person or department; this will facilitate the prompt handling of your request.

Allez au contenu, Allez à la navigation, Allez à la recherche, Change language

  • Applications
  • Tumblr
  • Instagram

Home > A propos

A propos : Qui sommes-nous ?




Quelle est la mission du Festival de Cannes ?
Depuis ses origines, le Festival de Cannes est fidèle à sa vocation fondatrice : révéler et mettre en valeur des œuvres pour servir l'évolution du cinéma, favoriser le développement de l'industrie du film dans le monde et célébrer le 7ème art à l’international.


C’est quoi la « Sélection officielle »?
Elle met en valeur la diversité de la création cinématographique à travers différents volets et d’abord la Compétition et Un Certain Regard. Des films qui illustrent le « cinéma d’auteur grand public» sont présentés en Compétition et Un Certain Regard met l’accent sur des œuvres originales dans leur propos et leur esthétique. La Sélection officielle repose aussi sur les films Hors Compétition, les Séances Spéciales et les Séances de minuit, Cannes Classics et la sélection Cinéfondation de films d’école.


Que représentent aujourd’hui les « Marches rouges » ?
C’est un des aspects de la manifestation et bien sûr la partie la plus médiatique de l’événement. Pour l’organisation, c’est d’abord l’opportunité d’accueillir pour la première fois et avec les mêmes égards, les plus grands artistes du cinéma mondial et les talents émergents. C’est également l’occasion d’honorer la créativité des artistes sur laquelle repose le prestige du Festival.


En quoi consistent les sélections non compétitives ?
Les films Hors Compétition sont souvent des films-évènements qui marquent l’année de cinéma et les Séances Spéciales et Séances de minuit offrent une exposition sur mesure à des œuvres plus personnelles. Les films du patrimoine en copies restaurées sont mis en valeur à Cannes Classics qui accueille également des hommages et des documentaires sur le cinéma. En dehors de la Sélection, les cinéphiles ont aussi l’opportunité de découvrir le cinéma autrement au travers de Leçons, d’hommages ou d’expositions…


Quelle place est réservée au court-métrage à Cannes?
A Cannes, le court métrage est représenté par la Compétition, à l’issue de laquelle le Jury des courts métrages remet une Palme d’or et par le Short Film Corner, un espace professionnel dédié aux rencontres, aux échanges, à la promotion des films.
En 2010, le Festival a créé « Cannes Court Métrage » qui réunit ces deux entités dans une dynamique complémentaire pour offrir un panorama complet de la création mondiale au format court et stimuler la créativité de ses auteurs.


Quelles sont les initiatives du Festival en faveur de la création ?
Le Festival est très attentif à découvrir de nouveaux talents et à servir de tremplin à la création. Le développement de « Cannes Court Métrage » va dans ce sens. Plusieurs actions destinées à soutenir les talents du futur ont déjà été mises en œuvre: la Caméra d’Or récompense le meilleur premier film présenté soit en Sélection officielle, soit à la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs ou à la Semaine de la Critique.
Quant à la Cinéfondation, qui présente des films d’écoles de cinéma dans le cadre de la Sélection officielle et organise également la Résidence et l’Atelier, elle est un observatoire sur les tendances du cinéma de demain.


Comment entretenez-vous la dimension internationale de la manifestation ?
Les films sélectionnés et les professionnels accrédités au Festival viennent du monde entier et la couverture médiatique de l’événement est internationale. Le Festival de Cannes offre par ailleurs à tous les pays producteurs de cinéma la possibilité de présenter la richesse de leur cinématographie dans le cadre du Village international, qui comptait plus de 40 pays en 2012.
Pour continuer d’encourager cette dimension, 6 nouvelles langues ont été ajoutées au site officiel en 2010. En plus du français et de l’anglais, les internautes peuvent désormais suivre la manifestation en espagnol, portugais, chinois, japonais, arabe et russe.


Le Marché du film, c’est le versant économique du Festival de Cannes ?

Le Festival de Cannes s’est très tôt appuyé sur son Marché du Film pour promouvoir la double nature du cinéma, culturelle et économique. Aujourd’hui, avec plus de 10.500 participants et 1500 projections, il est le premier marché du monde et il contribue au dynamisme de l'industrie mondiale du cinéma. Il est indissociable du Festival en ce sens qu’il favorise aussi la rencontre et qu’il offre aux professionnels accrédités des services et des outils ciblés qui leur facilitent l’échange, la négociation et la découverte.


Que fait le Festival pour le grand public ?
La carrière d’un film et la réputation d’un auteur reposent avant tout sur son accueil en salles. Bien qu’il soit réservé aux professionnels, le Festival est attentif à cette réalité et se prépare d’ailleurs à mieux adapter son accueil des cinéphiles.
Depuis 2012, le film d’ouverture sort en salles en France le jour de sa présentation à Cannes et la cérémonie d’Ouverture est diffusée dans les cinémas afin que les spectateurs puissent vivre en direct la soirée de lancement du Festival.
A Cannes, le Cinéma de la Plage, salle hors les murs, propose chaque soir un film – et depuis 2010 parfois en avant-première mondiale- dans le cadre d’une programmation thématique. Ce sont des projections en plein air ouvertes à tous qui représentent un lien fort avec le public.


Le Festival vient d'avoir 65 ans, quel est le secret de sa longévité ?

Le Festival est solidement ancré dans son histoire, mais il est aussi très attentif à accueillir la nouveauté et l’originalité. Au fil des années, il a évolué en cherchant à préserver ses valeurs essentielles : la cinéphilie, la découverte de nouveaux talents, l’accueil des professionnels et des journalistes venus du monde entier pour contribuer à la naissance et à la diffusion des films.
Lors de chaque édition, des projets voient le jour, des expériences se transmettent, des cultures se découvrent : c’est aussi cette effervescence qui fait du Festival de Cannes le reflet de son époque.

 

Facebook Twitter Imprimer

CANNES COURT METRAGE

Marché du Film

Village International

CONTACT

FESTIVAL DE CANNES, CINEFONDATION, MARCHE DU FILM
3, rue Amélie
75007 Paris - France
Tel: +33 (0) 1 53 59 61 00
Fax : +33 (0)1 53 59 61 10

Vous avez une demande à formuler ou souhaitez faire une suggestion ? Identifiez votre interlocuteur pour un meilleur traitement de votre demande.